Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    68

    buttonized animation?

    Hi.

    I was playing around with reaction controllers and I was wondering...

    Let's say I have several starship's canons. Instead of animating the shooting every time by hand for every canon (ie: moving recoiling barrel, making muzzle flash visible) is it possible to make a button, and by pushing it, have the canons do a shoot cycle?

    Is this possible with controllers, or does this require scripting? I've tried looking at mocap contollers, but that doesn't give me button pressing, shooting power.
    I was born...out of the grEEdiness of mankind. While man..<inaudible>...so will I...Uuuaaaaaaagh. -Gradius III-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Herman Miller Aeron chair
    Posts
    14,520
    You can do this with Maxs' motion capture controller. Actually in earlier versions of Max they included exactly the example you describe (a Frank Delise cannon from Lost in Space). Check your install discs you might have it.
    Paul Holm
    Toronto

    "The potato peelings in the sink, did not turn into vodka as I had hoped." - Mishka Shubaly

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    68
    Really?! Whoa...thanks. Been sitting under my nose this whole time?
    I will check my disks. Thank you!

    <crossing fingers, hoping that MAX6 counts as an older version>
    Last edited by Apocalypse_26; 12-19-2004 at 04:01 PM.
    I was born...out of the grEEdiness of mankind. While man..<inaudible>...so will I...Uuuaaaaaaagh. -Gradius III-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Herman Miller Aeron chair
    Posts
    14,520
    Here you go(found it on my Max 4 discs). Load up the file, open Utilities > Motion Capture, turn on test (mouse drives the rotation and "F" fires the cannon).
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Paul Holm
    Toronto

    "The potato peelings in the sink, did not turn into vodka as I had hoped." - Mishka Shubaly

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    68

    Thumbs up thanks!!!!

    This is so incredible. Exactly what I was looking for!!!
    Thanks Paul. For the quick advice and file-searching
    I was born...out of the grEEdiness of mankind. While man..<inaudible>...so will I...Uuuaaaaaaagh. -Gradius III-

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    37
    Very cool, i also had this question at the back of my mind ever since ive seen 3ds-max. thanks for the link to the file Paul, and thanks apoc for coming forward with the question

    and apoc, if you do have a bunch of starship cannons you get working. i would love to see, but if you dont thats cool to. just pm me.

    thx.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    64

    Alternative method

    You can also do one animation cycle by hand then copy/paste the keys in the dope sheet mode of the Track View.

    Simple dirty way of getting the same thing done... You know. if you don't have to complicate things...

    -Oscar

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    46
    yeah but if u copy paste, nothing else shud be moving cos it'll replay everything over and over. So i'd go with paul's idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •