Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: !!!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    154

    Exclamation !!!!!!

    I have a 44.1 mg map, and i just laid down the terrain.... This is basicly all the info i can supply, would someone like to help me out with compression? Oh, BTW, terrain is 1024x1024, cube is (i think) 10000x50000x30000

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    7,272
    First, a 1024x1024 terrain is probably gonna cause some slowdown. 256x256 should provide enough detail for a map that size. Just scale it in the terrain properties. It is up to you, though. To cut down file size, make sure you are compressing your textures. It makes a huge difference. That is all I really know of.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,150
    The issue is your terrain. 1024x1024 is HUGE. And I mean VERY LARGE. Terrain detail this high is rather unnecessary. What you should do it use a 256x256 terrain and scale it. You may have trouble now if you've already made the heightmaps, but you can export them to photoshop, size them down to 256x256 and import them back in along with a new terrain actor. You should also be able to do this with any layers you've added. Keep this in mind: A terrain size of 512x512 is not double 256x256, it's quadruple. Which means that 1024x1024 is 16 times as complex as a 256x256. I try to use 128x128 in my maps to save on space and frames. You really dont want a 1024x1024 if you can avoid it. It's better to make a smaller terrain and scale it up, though it will be less detailed it will perform better. My current map is similarly sized and uses a 128x128, I'm sure you could easily get away with a 256x256 sized terrain.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    154
    If i make it that size (256x256 or anything else) its to small, so what is this whole scaling thing about, I thought you could only rescale textures.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,150
    TerrainInfo Properties > TerrainInfo > TerrainScale > X, Y, and Z.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    154
    Thanks, I'll try that later, I have to get some sleep.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,944
    I must agree with the others, 1024 * 1024 is WAY to big. I can garantee you you will not be able to optimize something like that if you start out. I bet i would have problems to optimize such a big piece of terain, although i never tried.

    256 ashould be suficient, and if not you could use a 512 * 512 heightmasp, stretch it out by 25 % and then make the excessive polies invisible. Saves a lot of polies as well. Making terrain invisible is btw something you should always do. Then they wont be rendered.

    But the filessize is due to your terrain. The heightmap as well as the layers will create a texture. So the larger your terrain the larger the texture, the larger the filesize.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    154
    Ok, 256x256 terrain. Same cube. Stretched X and Y to 256. Cut out unnecessary terrain and frustrating myself trying to figure out texturing, because the noise thing is just ugly. And the file is now 4.53 mb, that works. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •