Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    173

    creating a weapon for UT2003/2004

    hi i am using 3D Studio Max 6 and have so far modelled an sa80 assault rifle, i am wondering how i can bring this model into ut2003/2004 as a weapon instead of the assault rifle.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The Land of the Hand
    Posts
    7,776
    you mean the game right? not the editor?


    your posting to the wrong forum check the unrealscript forum cuz i think you are going to have to whip up a mutator to do that
    Aint that some ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    173
    i have the 3d model i just need to bring it into the game as a replacement for the assault rifle

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The Land of the Hand
    Posts
    7,776
    Originally posted by davidcraig_2005
    i have the 3d model i just need to bring it into the game as a replacement for the assault rifle
    like i said you need to write up a mutator to get it to replace something in game
    Aint that some ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    321
    ja8t3d is right, you are in the wrong forums. Because you need help with the scripting part, wich is really easy once you have done it but really hard to explain. Because it takes a lot of steps. What you need to do is create a bunch of scripts and then compiled them all and get them into the game.

    Click here to learn how to import your weapon.

    I'm using Maya, so I never read that tutorial, I hope it helps though! Good Luck!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    173
    that's a big help thanks guys

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    158

    to begin

    to begin u can bring it in as a reg model
    ur model
    and just get it to replace ur assault rifle
    after this point, u can see about the code/scripting part
    so at some point u have to go into the code stuffs to adjust the properties,
    but getting it into the game as a model that is used as a weapon is ur first step
    since ur doing the same type of gun
    the parameters shoudnt need much changing

    i mean if u have the tuts or vtms, then u can approach it differently

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    602
    When creating a mutator for new wep do you have to replace a diff wepon?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    321
    What do you mean? Are you talking about replacing the weapon model? If that's the case then no you don't really have to, as a matter of fact you could use anyother model you wanted! One time it occured to me to have the assault rifle fire rockets! All I did was a mutator that replaced the rocket luncher model for the assault rifle.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    158

    right

    yeh
    thats what i said above
    just replace the mesh
    of course u need to set it up, rig it
    etc
    but once in unrealEd and ready to go, just place it instead of machine gun
    not that hard
    i think u guys are overthinking it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •