Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 71
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    533
    UI creation is pretty frustrating, alot of the stuff doesn't act the way you (I) think it should):

    Return values on some of the polygon operations are kinda useless too.

    Some nodes don't contain the info you think they should (i.e. references)

    Selection order of components isn't preserved
    Technical Artist - 106th ODST Division, Fireteam Tango Alpha Echo

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,175
    there are couple of things:

    1.Mental Ray plugin often dissapearing

    2.Can't create a sharp edge when working with vertices ( I want to convert one vertice to a sharp one)

    3.Attaching nurbs(objects dissapearing)
    Boolean union (objects dissapearing)

    it takes a lot of experimentation with reverse directions and stuff... this stuff should be easier, there should be a guide helping to resolve the problem

    4. Often when I changed attribute on the right and hit render button, there is a message to select the viewport, this is stupid, I didn't change the viewport anyway.

    5. EnvSky.....this feature is very confusing, why isn't it so easy as in Bryce to create skies?

    6. there should be a way to save presets of EnvSky.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,427
    yeah thats another thing, why in the Globals do you specify the camera you want to render from and then when the viewport isnt selected it wont render untill you make it active, thats silly,
    site


    insert witty comment here

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    22
    Damn renderer freezes up alot on big resolutions, and is quite slow for me with even seemingly simple scenes. (i'm running 3.2 p4 /w 1 gig ram...)

    It's a great package overall though the renderer makes me throw my mouse at the wall, and yank the power cord out sometimes.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,427
    yeah that happens to me, but its still rendering, just wait a while and it will finish.
    site


    insert witty comment here

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,685
    I just thought I'd throw in that you might want to take a look at the Multilister! The Multilister is like a mini Hypershade and is much smaller and faster.

    Also, I would have to disagree with the renderers being slow. If you take the time to learn how rendering works and what all the attributes do, rendering can take just a few seconds as opposed to minutes with the default settings. Of course it depends on each scene etc

    And MEL is the answer to everything! Of course not everyone wants to learn MEL, but if you do it means you can create whatever new features you want or edit the way Maya does things.

    Read the new (constantly expanding) Mental Ray sticky thread for info on Mental Ray in Maya! It includes a FAQ, Glossary, a list of tutorials and info on the latest MR shaders!

    Click here to see my showcase page.
    And here to see my Maya tutorials (7 so far).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,427
    Originally posted by Jozvex
    I just thought I'd throw in that you might want to take a look at the Multilister! The Multilister is like a mini Hypershade and is much smaller and faster.

    Also, I would have to disagree with the renderers being slow. If you take the time to learn how rendering works and what all the attributes do, rendering can take just a few seconds as opposed to minutes with the default settings. Of course it depends on each scene etc

    And MEL is the answer to everything! Of course not everyone wants to learn MEL, but if you do it means you can create whatever new features you want or edit the way Maya does things.


    i heard Alais was gonna get rid of the multilister back in Maya 5.0, hope they dont in future versions, like you said quick way of accessing nodes.

    Also about renderingfg, most people think software render buffer is the only way to do thing, beside MR, if you doing an animation, character animation and finsished a few seconds, ok you may want to render in MR but try out the Hardware render buffer, its much quick and you can get quality redners scene's in seconds not minutes or hours.

    I remember readinag a reivew of Maya 6.0 in 3dworld, one of his "Cons" was, too many renderes. lol
    site


    insert witty comment here

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    186
    As im just learning maya from max and agree with many of previous comments..

    a smaller annoyace would be some of the terminolgy - its often not logical and sometimes just bad. Makes it a little harder to learn i guess.. but once you know i guess ya know.

    umm..

    i really find the panel layout overkill sometimes - like the attribute editor. max fits it into a nice small connad panel - why cant maya. often faced with a huge window and nothing in it.

    um.. argee with renderer being slow - and yes with tweaking it can get quick but so can others with tweaking. off the bat a scanline max render seems to be faster with more quality.

    ive noticed a few things about how options dont work with others yet greying out dont not happen.

    does alias have some continuity between interface elements?! somethings is a checkbox, sometimes its a dropdown with one option, sometimes its a type in box with only 2 values. Probably has something to do later on but for now its does not always make sense.

    a box or section with for tools options to always so would be great.. find i waste a lot of time opening settings, reseting or changing and working.. so half the time i feel i need to check it over before i use it.. meaning every time i use a tool i have to check it.

    arrrh.. there is tons i could rabble on about and half dont really bother me THAT much .. still a great program but makes me jst think WTF - thats so... sometimes.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    186
    oh.. almost forgot!!!

    MY DOCUMENTS > MAYA ...is crap. Let the end user set this to point where they wish - i hate it when programs do this!!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,685
    Originally posted by revilo
    MY DOCUMENTS > MAYA ...is crap. Let the end user set this to point where they wish - i hate it when programs do this!!
    You can change it, you create a new Windows environment variable called MAYA_APP_DIR and then for the Value you type in the new path.

    Read the new (constantly expanding) Mental Ray sticky thread for info on Mental Ray in Maya! It includes a FAQ, Glossary, a list of tutorials and info on the latest MR shaders!

    Click here to see my showcase page.
    And here to see my Maya tutorials (7 so far).

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •