Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in the State of Misery A.K.A. Missouri
    Posts
    2,506

    Someone already has a PETABOX running...

    All that I can say is OH MY GOD!!! Imagine having something like this setting next to you as you start to render...
    http://www.archive.org/web/petabox.php

    No prices listed, but I suspect it won't be cheap or easy to set up since it uses around 60k watts... Kinda makes the Lacie bigger disk look little...
    Last edited by mastermesh; 05-20-2004 at 03:18 PM.
    My art blog: http://www.jeffthomannsart.blogspot.com

    My Entropia Universe Item Selling Blog: http://www.mariasgoods.blogspot.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England, Berkshire
    Posts
    3,015
    oh ive got 2 ofthem in my room!
    thats amazing lol 1 million gb can some1 ever us that amount of space is it possible!?


    jake.hall@gmail.com Got Xbox live? Add me. DuDeY109

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    176
    Lol omg..

    * Low power-- 6kWatts per rack, and 60kWatts for the whole system
    * High density-- 100 Terabytes per rack

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hiding in the shadows.
    Posts
    811
    OMG 1 million gig.

    I bet Pixar could use all that storage space.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,981
    I coulld sure use one of them. Would be a nice upgrade from my 20 gig

    I did make guides, but they all suck so screw it. Also, rsjrv99 is my old name and the name I use everywhere else but here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    7,090
    What I am wondering, judging from the size of that rack, they say that they are building 100TB racks. From the look of that rack, I see 40 1U blades. My question is, are therehard drives larger than 200GB at the moment? I did the math, and I basically found that each blade would have to store 2.5TB of data, meaning that they would have to have fit 10 250GB hard drives into one of those blades. I hope I am missing something. I found a 4U chassis that supports 24 drives, but that means that it is taking 4 slots, which would be 40 drives in those 1U configurations.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    188
    Isn't it a waste of money to do this?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    708
    Originally posted by Yazan
    Isn't it a waste of money to do this?
    No. There are many, many applications which require extreme amounts of data storage. Bear in mind that people will always be able to dream up scientific research projects (and otherwise) which will require systems just ever so slightly larger than are currently available...
    :: "I don't think that Debian can really compete with Gentoo. Sure it might be okay, but when it comes to dependencies, you probably are still
    :: going to have to get them all on your own. Or is there something like portage in the Debian world as well?" -- http://funroll-loops.org/
    :: Huge Linux forum: http://www.justlinux.com/
    :: Rosetta Stone for Unix: http://bhami.com/rosetta.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    188
    True, but a petabyte? Isn't that still waaaaaaaay over the top?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    7,090
    I believe Weta Digital required hundreds of Terrabytes of storage space for all of the shots and assets for the Lord of the Rings. It is practical for those who need it. Think of how much space hundreds of thousands of uncompressed images, templates, alpha layers, models, textures, etcetera, will take up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •