Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    921
    Hi all,

    I created a UI to record rig pose information, so you can recall character poses quickly and create your own library of poses. I was creating a new rig and wanted to test it in a number of poses without having to select all the rig controls and keyframe them every time.

    If you're interested you can download it from the mel section on my site at www.steven-hughes.co.uk. Let me know if you find it useful or if you can think of any improvements

    Steve



    Advanced Modeling: Lamborghini | Dodge Viper | Dash Cunning | Brandi | Stephanie | FA-18 | F15
    Aviation Art: "Clear Skies Ahead" (printed in issue 85 of 3D World Magazine)
    Latest WIP: "Ariel (sci-fi girl with a gun)"

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2

    toggle double shelf size

    updates

    version 1.0.2 updates on 28.02.2007

    * height is adapting if shelftab visible/invisible option
    * ktToggleTab command is for you to assign a hotkey

    * last situation of between single or double shelf saving to prefences.
    so it keeps your last choice.
    means,clicking to menuitem for each maya starts is no longer need

    and desciption picture.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	toggleDblShelf.gif 
Views:	274 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	55716  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by butCherHeLL; 03-06-2007 at 04:34 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    574
    @stevenhughes
    Pose managers would be helpful if u cud achieve the clicked pose at any world location....I dont want the character to jump to the location where the pose where the pose was stored....
    Iam working on such a dynamic pose storing script...any ideas....
    I would love to change the world, but they won't give me the source code

    C++ and OpenGL Student
    Maya Advanced Modeling Student




    First hit 3dBuzz-2002..

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Mel (Exporting)

    I'm trying to export a static mesh from maya to unrealEd, I keep getting "No object matches name: nameOfFile.group." What does that mean, how can I get it to work?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Banglore/India
    Posts
    3

    Where can i post

    in the page i'm not getting any Subscribe New thread. where can i post my new thread
    To be a 'HISTORY MAKER' is better than 'HISTORY READER'

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    tehran/iran
    Posts
    44

    Lightbulb why not a muscle system !

    hello all
    i have uploaded a muscle plugin for maya 7, 8 , 8.5 and 2008 on highend3d you can get it Here
    besides there will be more mels later on in my website
    http://www.3ddigitize.com
    motion capture and 3d animation studio
    containing weblog, forum, tutorial, and download section
    Info@3ddigitize.com

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1
    /*

    Fair warning: I am not a Mel Scripter by nature, so the code may be longer than necessary. However, it does work in Maya 8.5. That being said, I hope you enjoy it.

    Here is a simple code that enables the user to switch from Y-up camera to Z-up camera. The code comes with buttons the user can select/toggle between.
    This code also hides/shows cameras in a scene

    Unfortunately, the codes lines are a little too long to display properly in the forums. You will need to copy and paste the code into Notepad to maintain the code's original format.

    To avoid any issues do the following:
    1. copy the code into Notepad (this will make sure all the lines are properly setup)
    2. Once you have the code in Notepad, make a copy of the Notepad version and paste into Maya's Script Editor and hit Enter (in the numberpad)
    3. In the Mel command line, type: yzWindow;
    4. hit Enter
    5. the window should pop up: "Y-Z Set Up"

    This code was tested in Maya 8.5

    Here you go:
    */


    global proc yzWindow()

    {
    // create a window and store the name
    $yzWin = `window`;

    if (`window -ex $yzWin`)
    deleteUI $yzWin;

    // title for Window
    window -wh 200 200 -mxb true -sizeable true -title "Y-Z Set Up" $yzWin;

    // create columns
    rowColumnLayout -numberOfColumns 2;

    // create a couple of buttons
    button -label "Y-Up" -command "yChoice";
    button -label "Z-Up" -command "zChoice";

    /*
    Hide and Show Cameras is nice because it will hide any excess cameras that might clutter your scene when you make the new y and z cameras
    */

    button -label "Hide Cameras" -command "cameraHide";
    button -label "Show Cameras" -command "cameraShow";

    showWindow;
    }


    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    // below are the procedures
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    proc cameraHide()
    {
    modelEditor -e -cameras 0 modelPanel1;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 0 modelPanel2;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 0 modelPanel3;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 0 modelPanel4;
    }

    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    proc cameraShow()
    {
    modelEditor -e -cameras 1 modelPanel1;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 1 modelPanel2;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 1 modelPanel3;
    modelEditor -e -cameras 1 modelPanel4;
    }

    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    // this is the Procedure for the Y-Camera Choice
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    proc yChoice()
    {
    setUpAxis "y";

    if (`objExists "top_Y_up"` || `objExists "persp_Y_up"` || `objExists "front_Y_up"` || `objExists "side_Y_up"`)
    {

    /*
    this code has to stay here or the camera will not update when the user pressses the Y-Up button
    if the user has the Y camera chosen, and hits the button, the proper camera will display in the window
    */

    lookThroughModelPanel persp_Y_up modelPanel4;
    lookThroughModelPanel top_Y_up modelPanel1;
    lookThroughModelPanel front_Y_up modelPanel3;
    lookThroughModelPanel side_Y_up modelPanel2;


    select -cl ;

    }

    else
    {

    print ("new cameras created.");

    /*
    this code creates the new cameras which can then be named top_Y_up, persp_Y_up, etc
    */

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n top -hc "viewSet -t %camera"`; viewSet -t $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel1; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n persp -hc "viewSet -p %camera"`; viewSet -p $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel4; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n front -hc "viewSet -f %camera"`; viewSet -f $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel3; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n side -hc "viewSet -s %camera"`; viewSet -s $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel2; }

    rename |top1 "top_Y_up" ;
    rename |persp1 "persp_Y_up" ;
    rename |front1 "front_Y_up" ;
    rename |side1 "side_Y_up" ;

    /*
    setting the Far Clip Plane to 100,000 is a good idea or your model will be too big to see (using Unreal measurements)
    */

    setAttr "top_Y_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "persp_Y_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "front_Y_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "side_Y_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;

    setAttr "persp_Y_upShape.focalLength" 150;

    lookThroughModelPanel persp_Y_up modelPanel4;
    lookThroughModelPanel top_Y_up modelPanel1;
    lookThroughModelPanel front_Y_up modelPanel3;
    lookThroughModelPanel side_Y_up modelPanel2;

    /*
    if the Z camera exists then delete it. This will help clean up the window for the Y-axis user
    */

    if (`objExists "top_Z_up"` || `objExists "persp_Z_up"` || `objExists "front_Z_up"` || `objExists "side_Z_up"`)

    {
    delete top_Z_up;
    delete persp_Z_up;
    delete front_Z_up;
    delete side_Z_up;
    }

    else
    {

    return;
    }

    select -cl ;
    }


    }


    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    // this is the procedure for the Z camera choice
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    proc zChoice()
    {
    setUpAxis "z";

    if (`objExists "top_Z_up"` || `objExists "persp_Z_up"` || `objExists "front_Z_up"` || `objExists "side_Z_up"`)

    {

    /*
    this code has to stay here or the camera will not update when the user pressses the Z-Up button
    if the user has the Z camera chosen, and hits the button, the proper camera will display in the window
    */
    lookThroughModelPanel persp_Z_up modelPanel4;
    lookThroughModelPanel top_Z_up modelPanel1;
    lookThroughModelPanel front_Z_up modelPanel3;
    lookThroughModelPanel side_Z_up modelPanel2;


    select -cl ;

    }

    else
    {

    print ("new cameras created.");

    /*
    this code creates the new cameras which can then be named top_Z_up, persp_Z_up, etc
    */

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n top -hc "viewSet -t %camera"`; viewSet -t $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel1; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n persp -hc "viewSet -p %camera"`; viewSet -p $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel4; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n front -hc "viewSet -f %camera"`; viewSet -f $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel3; }

    { string $camera[] = `camera -n side -hc "viewSet -s %camera"`; viewSet -s $camera[0]; lookThroughModelPanel $camera[0] modelPanel2; }

    rename |top1 "top_Z_up" ;
    rename |persp1 "persp_Z_up" ;
    rename |front1 "front_Z_up" ;
    rename |side1 "side_Z_up" ;

    /*
    setting the Far Clip Plane to 100,000 is a good idea or your model will be too big to see (using Unreal measurements)
    */

    setAttr "top_Z_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "persp_Z_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "front_Z_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;
    setAttr "side_Z_upShape.farClipPlane" 100000;

    setAttr "persp_Z_upShape.focalLength" 150;

    lookThroughModelPanel persp_Z_up modelPanel4;
    lookThroughModelPanel top_Z_up modelPanel1;
    lookThroughModelPanel front_Z_up modelPanel3;
    lookThroughModelPanel side_Z_up modelPanel2;

    /*
    if the Y camera exists then delete it. This will help clean up the window for the Z-axis user
    */

    if (`objExists "top_Y_up"` || `objExists "persp_Y_up"` || `objExists "front_Y_up"` || `objExists "side_Y_up"`)

    {
    delete top_Y_up;
    delete persp_Y_up;
    delete front_Y_up;
    delete side_Y_up;
    }

    else
    {
    return;
    }

    select -cl ;
    }


    }
    Last edited by darkstorm007; 03-08-2008 at 12:00 PM.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saumur, France
    Posts
    1,347
    Here is my first MEL script, a modified version of the Poly Conversion Marking Menu (CTRL+RMC). I always hated the fact that Maya never switched to the right component mode after the conversion, so I fixed that. Also I got rid of the submenus and simplified the marking menu to the way it used to behave in older versions of Maya. That way you don't have to deal with those annoying submenus that basically just slow down your workflow.
    The script can be downloaded at highend3d.com right here:

    http://highend3d.com/maya/downloads/...n-MM-5144.html
    "The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress."

    My Portfolio
    My Tutorials

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •