Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    328

    New AMD System Problem

    hi all
    im having a prob withmy new computer system that i just built. everything seems to be workin but when i turn it, nothing appears on screen. the core temp is at a steady 26 degrees C as my case tells me that. i cantget into bios or anything as my monitor just says no signal. its an amd 3200+ barton, radeon 9800 pro 512 ram. everything seems to be working though as all fans are going round. iv tryed a differentgfx and its still the same problem.

    anyone have any suggestions as to what the problem could be?

    thanks in advance all

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20
    Make sure the grfx card is pushed down all the way. This was a problem with an old system i put together. The card felt like it was securely in but it wasn’t and pushing it in fixed the problem. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    17
    Some motherboards have a second power connector near the processor or on the video card. If they're not plugged in, it can cause this behavior.

    And yeah, check the video card and RAM and make sure they are firmly seated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    31
    also sometimes taking out the cpu and putting it back in does the trick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19
    try resteaing everything. its most likely to be a loose video card.

    also make sure you have all the wire pluged firmly in all the correct places.

    check to see that u haven't cracked the core on your cpu and have applied the correct amount of thermal paste / heatsink seated corectly.

    when you switch it on do all the fans start spinning etc?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    328
    hi all,
    the problems i am having are rather strange. i got a new computer and it was in parts. i assembled it without any real problems and installed my operating system. i then noticed that my amd 3200+ barton was running at 1ghz. i checked the bios and for some reason it said 2500+. i wasnt sure why that was so i tweeked a few settings. i stepped up my fsb but it was still well within what my system can cope with. i left the ratio alone and saved and exited. restarted and now it wont come on. basicly all the fans are spinning, the monitor is turned on, all parts seem to active as gfx fan, processor fan, psu fan, mobo fan and all 6 case fans are all working. the processor is running at a steady 25degrees so its not to hot. all it says though is that there is no signal to the screen. i cant think why this is. i have also tried another gfx and its the same problem. i tried to clear my bios settings with the jumper and the battery and there is the same problem. im now stuck with no were else to turn without taking to a specialist. there is also no technical support line for msi motherboards so i cant even call them. here is my part list.

    all from ebuyer.com

    Thermaltake V1000D Xaser III ATX Case
    AMD Athlon XP3200 400FSB 512Cache Barton
    Crucial 512 DDR400 PC3200 CL=3 Memory Module
    radeon 9800 pro
    MSI Nforce K7N2 Delta-ILSR Motherboard

    any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks guys

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    19
    sounds like a bad videocard. is it integraded to the board?

    u should think about RMA.

    are you sure u pluged the monitor cable in right? if u have one of the DVI to vga adapters forexample they come loose easily. and theres lots of diff types of connectors for dvi.

    do u have a different card around? try it with a different card or and friends card. or try your card in a friends computer.

    also did i read 25C - thats rediculous unless your using water cooling. msi MB monitor thing it totally unreliable.

    just ask around and find a good computer maintenace place in your area. shouldn't cost more than $50 MAX.
    Last edited by milkyman; 03-04-2004 at 09:22 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    atlanta
    Posts
    71
    the system i built had a cheap power supply and did all kinds of weird stuff. it works great with my p3 but not my amd just something else to check
    Out here in the perimeter there are no stars

    Out here we are stoned
    Immaculate.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    74
    hey magicT....make sure that the fsb clock on the mobo is set to "auto"...read the manual to find out which jumpers it is! and as far as the first problem u had with the video....it sounds like you got a reversed reset switch...try to disconnect the reset switch from the mobo and start the comp.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    37
    You must have highed your FSB to high...
    It is typical for a computer with not gfx-signal, on my other AMD-PC, it's the same, it's a "Sunday-processor", it can't take a higher FSB than xxx...
    Amd Athlon 2500+
    512 MB DDR
    Radeon 9200 128MB ( Thinking of buying 9800 )
    120 GB Maxtor
    Chieftec BX-03BL-BL-BL with 360 Watts PSU ( Picture

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •