Post "Chapter One: Static Meshes and You"

what is the best source for downloading static meshes? are there any websites that are devoted specifically to hosting static mesh downloads? i've searched for a few days and read through some posts but have turned up no results... i'm very new to ut mapping so this is a n00b question... but hopefully one that will give good results

This is not a n00b question, this is an exellent question. Unfortuantly i have not heard of any site which has static meshes, maybe someone else did. But if you're willing to learn something new (agian, you wonder) or put some more time and effort in it you could try and learn a 3d app. If you don't/can't invest time in a 3d app, there's always the option to build your static meshes in UED. Just keep in mind that it's not a good way to make them.

Although that i don't know any of those sites, there are plenty of sites that have free models for you to use. The only problem is that most of the time they are in format that can't be imported directly in UED. Like a format for 3dmax (.max) So you would need to open them up in that particular app and then export to a format UED can import. But it's might still be a good option. You could see if 3dbuzz itself has such free models and one other site i know is 3dCafe.

Cheers.

unfortunately i can't afford anything more expensive than milkshape 3d... but i have made some static meshes for my own maps... i posted a question similar to this on another forum and got a reply with http://dynamic3.gamespy.com/~prefablab/main.shtml... this is a good resource, but as you have already stated, most of the meshes are in the wrong formats and many of them are untextured... are there any other 3d modelling programs like milkshape 3d that have a few of the more advanced features that maya and max provide but with a very low cost? and for some reason if anyone doesn't know of milkshape 3d (YOU SHOULD!) the creator's url is http://www.swissquake.ch/chumbalum-soft/