Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Lightbulb The "Official" Words Of Wisdom Thread

Ok, well as you may know im a newbie mapper and after asking questions here i realise that most mappers have at least one thing they have learnt that they would call invaluable so i thought i would start this thread so people can post the one or two things they have discovered whilst learning to map they think other newbies would find handy, this can be a tip on actual mapping skills, a link to an excellent site or even something on where to get inspiration...

Looking forward to seeing them all, now get posting! cheers all, phOny.
    Complaining is like a rocking chair, It's fun for a while but it doesn't get you anywhere.

Originally posted in another thread by Boot Guy Joe
    Yep, the VTMs are a place to start. But if you want to design some pretty good maps, here's some tips.

First of all, if you have something in mind, draw it. It doesn't matter if it is a work of art or just scribbles only you can understand, just do it.

If you are having trouble drawing your ideas on paper, go to unrealEd and begin making the general idea of what you want. Again, it doesn't matter if it is poorly created or not, most likely no one else will see it like that.

If you are looking for ideas, go download maps. Lots of them. I have over 2000 doom levels, and almost the entire database of LvL (www.planetquake.com/lvl) on CDs. This is a great way to see what type of gameplay flow you like, and to see what has or has not been done.

If you see something you want to duplicate in your map, but you hear constantly that people get pissed when you duplicate stuff, DO IT ANYWAY. Tons of mappers complain when they see that, but they ALL have done it. It is one of the best ways to learn. Don't be afraid. (But if you take ALOT from the map, be sure to give the original auther at least some credit for the inspiration)