Ftp Help, But A Little More Than That

I am attempting to write some C++ 11 code from C# 5.0 code that I have already written. I am new to C++.

The main purpose of the C# code that I wrote was:
    1. to make a connection with an ftp server
    2. access the servers file directory
    3. select a file in that director
    4. download the file to the local directory
    5. reduce the local file string to substrings
    6. write those substirngs to the local directory in json format.

So the first wall I’ve hit is how do you connect to a ftp server with c++? In my C# code I used the System.Net.WebRequest. So I went to msdn and looked at the c++ documentation for the WebRequest Class. But then a thought hit me, *this is the c# way of doing things. I want to do things the C++ way.

So the first question is, how should I go about connecting to a ftp server the C++ way?

The second question is, am I thinking about this the right way?

I’ve ran around the web looking at things, but I am now more confused than if I was going to do this the C# way. Microsoft has a C++ REST SDK. But is that not the C# way. Maybe I’m such a newb that I may need to depend on this library, but isn’t the point of C++ for you to build the things you need. As a newb should I not start building things, then once I have a good understanding use others libraries.

The c# code works point to point. For those who are members, I based my ftp fetch off the async webRequest from windows phone 8 training by nelson.

I know this is a long question, and I’m making this longer. However, I think this question goes deeper than the question of how do I implement a ftp web request, and I thank anyone who takes the time to answer this question sincerely.

There are a few things that you should realize first: