Hybrid View

Arrow C# 101 - Week 2 - Homework

Hey, I'm pretty new to programming with any language and thought C# would be a good place to start.

Started perhaps a week ago in earnest and went through the C# Fundamentals for Absolute Beginners course over @ Microsoft Virtual Academy then came over here and started going through the free C# 101 - 2013 video series.

Attempting the homework and this is what I have so far, I think it works okay. I'm positive a lot of the code is wasteful (especially the bolded bit)and am just posting for some feedback on what I should change.

Code:
    using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;

internal class Program
    {
        public static void Main()
        {
            #region Vending machine

bool enteredValidData = false;
            int money = 0;
            int menuSelection;

List<string> itemList = new List<string>();
            itemList.Add("Game Console");
            itemList.Add("Car");
            itemList.Add("House");

List<int> itemPrice = new List<int>();
            itemPrice.Add(12);
            itemPrice.Add(27);
            itemPrice.Add(38);

Console.WriteLine("Welcome to Odd Jobs Oddities!");

while (!enteredValidData)
            {
                Console.WriteLine("Please enter how much money you have (In £)");
                enteredValidData = int.TryParse(Console.ReadLine(), out money);

if (!enteredValidData)
                {
                    Console.WriteLine("The data type you entered was not valid. Please enter an integer value.");
                }
            }

while (money >= itemPrice[0])
            {
                Console.WriteLine("You have {0:C} to spend.", money);

Console.WriteLine("Please select what you would like.");
                Console.WriteLine("[0] {0} - {1:C}", itemList[0], itemPrice[0]);  //Wasteful
                Console.WriteLine("[1] {0} - {1:C}", itemList[1], itemPrice[1]);