Recommendations from the Community

Hey Everyone,

I've been a member sponsor off and on on 3D Buzz for quite some time now. They've help guide my career choice and advance my learning, partnering with my education in school. One of the topics that no matter how hard I try I struggle with is Game Programming. I've taken 3 C#101 courses over the years but what I don't ever seem to find is courses related to game architecture. I can read code, usually have to look up API reference if I'm coding myself (I'm a designer, more art oriented). I'm not looking to become a professional programmer, but I want to be able to implement my game ideas using proper techniques. Is there a 3DBuzz course that delves directly into architecture and code organization for games. Or some good book references? I've recently picked up Game Coding Complete by McShaffry and Graham but its a tome and coupled with other projects a slow read.

Unity, which is my most commonly used Engine, seems to focus on scripts running on game objects. This is a technique that I commonly used back in the days of Flash programming in AS2. Once, AS3 came out, I focused on being more object oriented. These two concepts seem to contradict either. Does anyone have advice for learning architecture best practices?

My preferred method would be to learn by utilizing practical examples. The UDK Kismet scripting course was amazing at that, because I could see the reason behind what I was doing. But searching and reordering strings in C# makes me waver... Sorry for the seemingly random thought dump. Advice?
    "Shellie! Shellie! The medicines!!"

Well for best practices I've always thought it's just a matter of learning from those tomes (Came Coding Complete for example). I'm not experienced enough to offer advice beyond that, I'm currently learning to build games using Unity and weekly mini projects.