Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

C# 101: Absolute Beginner Resources

I thought I would open up a thread for those of us "absolute beginners" in the C# 101 class starting Wed 4/24/2013. Yesterday there was a lot of vocabulary, and I for one am going to do a bit of research to try to sort it all out. I'll try to post my own documents here, and please if there are personalized cheat sheets out there, please help us .

For now, here is a few quick links for those of us "newbies":

Thumbs up

Thank you for the link Eudaimon, much appreciated.

After attending the Class yesterday I also find myself wanting to explorer more of the vocabulary used, so my foundation for learning C# is rock solid.

/JR

Nice to know I'm not the only complete newbie trying this class out.
    Last edited by Kirito; 09-05-2013 at 01:28 PM.

Also the XNA 101 Hyperion Project is a nice set of videos right here on 3DBuzz available for free.
    I'm so negative, like an electron.

A bit of advice I could give, is document your code with comments. This is especially crucial when beginning programming. It is important to draw those connections between the English language (or your native language) and a programming language. I have found that a good way to document my code is by writing pseudo-code first, and then each programming line I write, I take one of those lines from the pseudo-code and place it before the new programming line. Here is a very simplistic example, but note that this works better with more complicated code:

Problem:
    Write a program to add two numbers together, and print the value.

pseudo-code(written first in the program as comments):
    Code:
    // Allocate memory for an integer to hold first value.
    // Allocate memory for an integer to hold second value.
    // Allocate memory for an integer to hold the sum of the two values.
    // Assign the sum of the two values to be equal to the value of the first value added to the second value.