Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897

    Post edit features missing in Firefox and Chrome

    This is going to be a bit of copy/paste from another forum but it was asked to put issues here.

    - Post edit window missing (IE, Firefox) Shows and works in Chrome but with missing edit widgets. Smileys show up on right but are non functional. - Post icons appear below edit window and appear to work because I added one to this post.
    - Edit Post button does not work in any browser tried (IE, Firefox, Chrome). It shows busy cursor but does nothing.
    - Post with Quote does not work. Shows busy cursor but does nothing.
    - "Reply to this Thread" button does not work. Busy cursor, yada yada.
    - How do you show images in posts? I have seen others do this but there are no widgets visible to accomplish this. I managed to attach and attempt to show the image but it does not work with [IMG ][ /IMG] using the URL retrieved by Previewing this post. Well its attached anyway.

    Was going to re-attach images here but the File Upload Manager did not have the previously uploaded files like the old site typically had. So I uploaded them again.

    FireFox (latest)
    http://www.3dbuzz.com/forum/attachme...6&d=1358974907

    Chrome (latest)
    http://www.3dbuzz.com/forum/attachme...5&d=1358974896

    I am posting this from work using Chrome so obviously I have some functionality but many of the features I like and use are not there.

    OSs I am using: WinXP 32-bit and Win7 64-bit (6 GB RAM, 2.5GB Vid RAM). Same results in above in both OSs.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3dbuzz_fireofx.jpg 
Views:	97 
Size:	130.4 KB 
ID:	73396   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3dbuzz_chrome.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	161.3 KB 
ID:	73395  
    Code Fearlessly!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Anacortes, WA
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks!

    The more screenshots we get in here the easier it'll be to track this down. Keep in mind though, none of the screenshots you posted are appearing because the attachment system on the forums is broken. Is there an external image host you could use?

    Also, I'm posting here because I just realized something: I wonder if it could have to do with SSL. Are you accessing the site via https? I had to do some tricky things to get VB to work right with SSL, and it could have broken things.
    Need any help? Feel free to PM me - or send an email directly to nelson@3dbuzz.com!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897
    Thanks so much Nelson, I feel heard again.

    The more screenshots we get in here the easier it'll be to track this down. Keep in mind though, none of the screenshots you posted are appearing because the attachment system on the forums is broken. Is there an external image host you could use?
    At work the powers that be decided to block ftp so at the moment I cannot upload these images to my website's server. But I will tonight.

    Also, I'm posting here because I just realized something: I wonder if it could have to do with SSL. Are you accessing the site via https? I had to do some tricky things to get VB to work right with SSL, and it could have broken things.
    Interesting. Some sites when accessed from work indicate https in the URL box (firefox) and they require us to get a Certificate. One site off the top of my head is Cox web mail. When accessing 3dbuzz I do not see the "https" and the site info icon to the left of the URL says "The website does not provide identity information. Your connection to this website is not encrypted". It says "http://www.3dbuzz.com/" for the address. In Chrome the icon to the left of the URL is the page with the bent corner which according to Google means the site isn't using SSL. Plus it isn't padlock which would mean https (I think). So I think your answer would be no, its not trying to use https or SSL. Sounded promising though.


    I also want to say that I do appreciate all that you are doing. I like the new site and the instant membership and improved store will be awesome for sure. Just know you are appreciated.


    Last edited by smjones; 01-23-2013 at 10:31 PM.
    Code Fearlessly!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    2,105
    Quote Originally Posted by ;1591045
    Also, I'm posting here because I just realized something: I wonder if it could have to do with SSL. Are you accessing the site via https? I had to do some tricky things to get VB to work right with SSL, and it could have broken things.
    This could be the problem. I've been unable to reply to posts in Internet Explorer and Firefox on the standard version of 3D Buzz, but with the SSL version of 3D Buzz (which I didn't know existed) the quick reply box is there, or I can click on Reply.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897
    but with the SSL version of 3D Buzz (which I didn't know existed) the quick reply box is there, or I can click on Reply.
    There's a special version of this site? What is the url for the secure version?
    Code Fearlessly!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Anacortes, WA
    Posts
    4,168
    Quote Originally Posted by smjones View Post
    There's a special version of this site? What is the url for the secure version?
    the exact same - just https instead of http in the URL. Note that browsers these days omit the protocol in the address bar if it's http. If you don't see anything, then you're on http. If you see https then your on the secure site.
    Need any help? Feel free to PM me - or send an email directly to nelson@3dbuzz.com!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897
    the exact same - just https instead of http in the URL. Note that browsers these days omit the protocol in the address bar if it's http. If you don't see anything, then you're on http. If you see https then your on the secure site.
    So apparently my browsers from IE9, Firefox to Chrome are all running the non-secure version. Is there a way to force security or make it use the secure site?

    benwatt you had good insight but sort of left off when you got to "here's how to fix this"
    Code Fearlessly!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    547
    1. open firefox .
    2. install https-everywhere . Restart Firefox to complete.
    3. In the address bar type "about:support".
    4. Click on the show folder (next to the profile folder).
    5. in the https-everywhere folder place the xml file. See what the file should contain below.

    the xml file should contain the following rule.
    Code:
    <ruleset name="3dbuzz.com">
      <target host="www.3dbuzz.com" />
      <target host="3dbuzz.com" />
    
      <rule from="^http://(www\.)?3dbuzz\.com/" to="https://www.3dbuzz.com/"/>
    </ruleset>
    6. restart firefox if open.

    Also, the addon has many more sites already added so there is a benefit to using it.

    @ Nelson
    On another note, would it help you if people used about:support to copy their current firefox informations? Talking about those who have issues.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897
    florem,
    I followed your suggestions but one of the important ones was a little confusing.

    in the https-everywhere folder place the xml file. See what the file should contain below.
    There was a folder, "\HTTPSEverywhereUserRules" that was empty. What xml file? You say "the file" which implies I have a file I need to place in there. If you meant "create a file" and put in it what you show then my next question is what filename should it have?

    I made one named "3dbuzz.xml", added the xml text and saved it to that folder. Restarting firefox and going to www.3dbuzz.com showed it was still the non-https version so I went back and checked the add-ons only to find it was removed and the profiles folder that was there before (most likely a temp) was gone and a new one randomly named was there, obviously with no HTTPSEverywhereUserRules folder. Might be the actions of our corp IT having there way.

    Well, bottom line, Chrome works (mostly) so I can at least post but some of the nice posting features are missing but I can live with it.
    Code Fearlessly!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    897
    "there" way should be "their" way. Post editing doesn't work for me.
    Code Fearlessly!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •