Thread: Rendering

Hybrid View

Rendering

When rendering out a scene is it possible to make Max render more than one frame at a time. I have access to a render machine that has 2 processors and 6 cores per processor, with the frames I am rendering this no where near uses this machine to it's full potential, is there a way of getting Max to render a frame per core?

So it would essentially be rendering 12 frames at a time, or something similar along these lines.

Cheers

I am no expert but in my copy of 3ds Max 2012 there is a Multi-threading checkbox in Customize - Preferences - Rendering (tab). It was checked already. According to the specs it already utilizes up to 16 threads (ie. cores/hyperthreads, etc) if available. I think older versions allowed you to specify the number of threads to use. (Maybe it still does in the latest version of 3ds Max but I couldn't find it).
    This applies to the built-in scanline renderer.

Now to your question. Can you specify a certain frames for certain available threads? I do not know but my guess is that when rendering that single frame it is using multiple threads to do it. Spreading out frames to threads doesn't appear to be an option from what I could tell. But again I am not an expert user so there may be a way.
    Code Fearlessly!

Quote Originally Posted by WeLarveIt View Post
    So it would essentially be rendering 12 frames at a time, or something similar along these lines.

Cheers
    Unless you have a stand alone rendering solution rendering 12 frames at the same time would require to 12 copies of Max running. Twelve scenes would need to be loaded each needing RAM allocated for each of the 12 frames you are rendering. For all but the simplest scene you would quickly run out of RAM and be dealing with slooooow disk swapping at best and more likely freezing or crashes.