Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Dynamic Strings Question

I'm still somewhat new to all this, so I've been following the C++ videos in order to learn what's what. I have a quick question involving the pointers and strings videos.

After watching C-Style Strings, I decided to try to use pointers to dynamically accept input from the user (up to an absolute maximum of let's say... 50 characters). It's a small program I attempted for the sheer sake of learning.

Here's the code...
    Code:
    #include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main() {
    	char *ptr = new char[10];

cout << "What's your name?" << endl;
    	cin.getline(*ptr, 50);
    	cout << "Hello, " << *ptr << endl;

delete[] ptr;

return 0;
    }
    It doesn't seem to like cin.getline(*ptr, 50); and won't compile. Apparently I'm changing data types (char to char* I think) and I'm not sure how to get around that. I know I can't just put ptr there, even though it will run, because that's just the pointer and not where the array is.

Any idea what's wrong?

Just to be clear, a pointer is an address in memory. It is declared using the *.
    Code:
    char *ptr = new char[50];
    Here ptr holds the address where a char array is stored. Using the * on a pointer after it is declared is called dereferencing. What is returned is the value of the data type stored at that address. In this case you would get a char not a char*.
    Code:
    cin.getline(ptr, 50);
    This is correct. Also, If you are planning on reading in 50 chars make sure your array is large enough to hold it!

You'll actually need to make the array 51 characters wide as cin.getline() takes upto n-1 and puts a null terminator on the end to make sure the string is null terminated(basically so other things know they've reached the end of the string without the need to know how big the string is).