Exploring the Unity Asset Store

I've been exploring the Asset Store for a few days now. I've found some useful assets for a fantasy MMORPG, but most of them cost money. As I don't run a company or earn any money developing games (since I'm still learning everything) it would be 'stupid?' to buy any assets that cost money just because they look good.
    But since I've been a student in this class I feel like my future of finally developing an MMO is secure enough. I'm so excited about this I would work a full month somewhere in a pub to get enough money to buy a unity license rather then a new cell phone or guitar, as my friends would do.

So my question:
    is it worth buying assets and licenses myself? Is it to early to start doing that? (I'm 17 if it matters) In the future of the MMO class I can see us creating spells on our own, but those spells would not look cool without any cool effects, so I've found this package on the asset store: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kIRY...&feature=feedu
    I don't see making these effects myself and I would be excited to get my hands on those when we get the ability to do our own thing when it comes to making spells.

Something else I got an eye on: http://www.3dmedia.be/03/index.php?p...&group=1&cat=2
    I don't see it being to early to buy that and start making my own fantasy city which I could use in the future.
    So, is this any good to do? My brother works in the graphics industry as a software engineer and he has always told me not to do such things and just stay with the free stuff until you can make any money out of it.

Thanks for everyone who replies
    Diede.
    ''A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.'' - Albert Einstein
    "The expression of what you are in space-time creates the pattern of space time." - Bachir Boumaaza

See if I can help you here.