Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Click To Move Character Script

I am new to programming so do not think I am stupid but I am looking to be able to put my character at a scene, then attach it to a macro that will have mouse be visible and click a point and walk towards it...sort of like they have in rsclegacy. Can anyone help me with this?
    Last edited by BrumDogPro; 04-04-2017 at 09:02 PM.

Drag the Cube onto your scene and create a plane for it to move on. You can Raycast and take the position(Vector3(x, y, z)) of where the mouse is clicked on the plane. Then you can Lerp (http://unity3d.com/support/documenta...tor3.Lerp.html). Just plug in cubes current position into start position, and mouse position into end position. Using Linear interpolation will make it move smoothly to that position as well, and not just jump right there. Start with moving first, then move onto rotation.

I'm not sure what kinda new to programming means, I apologize if I threw too much at you or confused you. If you're new to Unity check out the free videos here first and you'll understand a lot more quickly.

If you put this little script into the Update method and attach that to your main camera, when you press the left mouse button it will draw a line from the camera to the point in at which it contacts any GameObject named "Ground".

hit.point = location you want to move to. That is the location you would want to Lerp to using jimmiduff21's example above.

Code:
     if (Input.GetMouseButton(0))
                {
                    RaycastHit hit;
                    Ray ray = (Camera.main.ScreenPointToRay(Input.mousePosition));

if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit))
                    {
                        Debug.Log("Hit: " + hit.transform.name);
                        if (hit.transform.name == "Ground")
                        {
                            Debug.DrawLine(Camera.main.transform.position, hit.point);
                        }