Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

C# Extract Method as Variable

Hi,

I'm quite new to using VS - and even C#.

I've been following along with the R&D testing Raven DB tutorials but I got stuck when Nelson extracted the method below to a variable:

session.Store(new Account
    {
    Id = string.Format("accounts/{0}", Guid.NewGuid()),
    Name = new Name
    {
    FirstName = AddFirstNameBox.Text,
    LastName = AddLastNameBox.Text
    }
    });

Does anyone know how to do this without resharp?

It's not possible to use visual studio refactor tools to extract a method to a variable. You can only do simple refactors like rename, reorder parameters, etc. If you don't have resharper just watch the video carefully and see how the code ends up after the refactor takes place.

That is something I am having trouble with myself.

Nelson: "Oh, hang on, I need to change something..."
    *sound of a fifteen-keystroke shortcut*
    The code has totally rearranged itself on screen and then he flips to another .cs file two frames later.

It requires a LOT of pausing and scrutiny. It isn't an enormous problem, but it is sometimes difficult to follow someone using a customized interface that looks different to what I have on screen.

I find myself doing a lot of typing by hand when Nelson uses shortcuts like that.
    ( ! ) Assets/_Scripts/TP_Camera.cs(50,35): BCE0000: WTF?

Quote Originally Posted by D.M.J. View Post
    That is something I am having trouble with myself.

Nelson: "Oh, hang on, I need to change something..."
    *sound of a fifteen-keystroke shortcut*
    The code has totally rearranged itself on screen and then he flips to another .cs file two frames later.

It requires a LOT of pausing and scrutiny. It isn't an enormous problem, but it is sometimes difficult to follow someone using a customized interface that looks different to what I have on screen.

I find myself doing a lot of typing by hand when Nelson uses shortcuts like that.