Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Houdini vs lightwave for beginners

Hello,

First I'd like to apologize if I posted in the wrong section.

Second, I have a few questions (a lot in fact but I'll restrain myself), I hope you can answer them.

I'd like to learn CG as a hobby, no plan on trying to find a job in that field. I'd like to do short movies and if I'm skilled enough, to do some special effects on my friends' movies (I know it's hard and all but I didn't specify a time frame for my becoming skilled enough )

I'm totally new and I'm wondering which software I should use.
    I'm attracted by Lightwave and Houdini. For Lightwave, I can't explain why, I just like it. For Houdini, I like the system of nodes and procedural thinking. I am a programmer so maybe it has the same mindset.

But then, what would you advise me, regardless of the price of the software? (I know houdini is free or cheap for non-commercial use).
    Can houdini render reel? (Is it the right term for "look real" composition?)
    Also, Which one do you think is easier to learn?
    Which one would be the best regarding the knowledge it would teach me?

Last, more about your general opinion, do you think, according to your experience that I could, with time, manage to do something good without learning in a school? (I'm 29 and can't go back to school for cheap ...)

This website has very nice video and I'm looking forward to trying Houdini but If you think I should focus on lightwave, please let me know. (I'm planning on learning both as I'm still hesitating)

Sorry for the long post.

Welcome to the site!

I like Houdini but, having not tried lightwave, can't really comment on which does what better...
    Quote Originally Posted by kurisutofu View Post
    Can houdini render reel? (Is it the right term for "look real" composition?)
    "render realistically"