Red face Some Noob C++ questions!

Hello! I'm a very beginner programmer and in my 14 years of life I've always been interested in games on a deeper level. I've picked up "Beginning Programming in C++ for DUMMIES!" book and I've learned things so far like variables, functions, and loops. It's really interesting so far and I'm rather excited! So enough backround info!

1. How will console programs eventually turn into video games? I've heard that there's things like libraries that supposedly add on to the language.. are these libraries like directx? and do these libraries just add functions?

2. What is OpenGL?

3. What's the difference between int, char, and bool?

4. What exactly does the code do in a video game? Like is the engine completely code? and is it always in one language? (See question #2 )

Thanks for all the help in advance.

Welcome to the site

Check out the free VTMs HERE for answers to at least some of these questions! The first 10 videos in the C++ SoftwareEngineering series are also free for anyone to watch...

I found
    my current avatar on google, so props to THIS GUY who created the original...

Quote Originally Posted by mrblue View Post
    1. How will console programs eventually turn into video games? I've heard that there's things like libraries that supposedly add on to the language.. are these libraries like directx? and do these libraries just add functions?
    Libraries help with that. They provide functions for things like drawing animations on screen or playing sounds. They usually do not add functionality to the language itself but rather contain code that would be too complicated to write yourself. In theory though, you can do everything a library can with just the core language.

2. What is OpenGL?
    OpenGL is one of those libraries used for 3d graphics, i.e. it allows your C++ program to talk to the graphics card.