Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1st VTM problem

1st VTM problem

Firstly, i'd like to say that i'm a total newbie to programming...well, kindof, i've done visual basic a while back in school for 2 years, but never really bothered with it as it was more so a class of ethics than actual programming.

Anyway, I love the 3d buzz tutorials, they're THE best video tutorials out there as they are not boring, but ONE TINY LITTLE PROBLEM I have with the introduction to C++ is that I cannot get my code to link, like it does in the video.
    In the video at about 13:20, the following lines of code are typed up:

Code:
    #include <iostream>

main()
    Now once he types that, he goes on to create the 2 squiggly brackets, but he didn't explain how he got line 1 to link to line 3, because as a beginner, i'm ALREADY stuck, because something was pressed that they didn't tell anybody about.
    Either that, or on THEIR program, it automatically linked those lines, but on MINE, if I press enter to go to the next line, the link goes past main, therefore not allowing my code to run properly when I try to get the simple hello world output working.

What I mean by the link is the black line to the left side of the text that goes down from the expand/close box next to line 1, down to line 3.

As soon as I press enter, that link just goes down to the next line, therefore completely excluding main() and anything in main....

I'm also not seeing the numbers next to the lines either.

I hope this makes sense to the more experienced programmers, if not, I will provide an image showing you the problem, however that shouldnt be necessary.

Thanks in advance everyone, in the mean time i'll look for a solution elsewhere, and keep this thread here with a solution if I find one, just in case other beginners get the same problem.