Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    70

    Question Replacing system units in Turbo Delphi 2006

    I use Delphi 5, and as it has become a bit dated I thought I'd "upgrade" to Turbo Delphi 2006.

    Is there a way to replace the system units in Turbo Delphi? Some of my projects depend on customized versions of system.pas and sysinit.pas.

    [Pascal Fatal Error] mieulwkh.dpr(1): F2063 Could not compile used unit 'System.pas'
    Signature:
    Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,774
    Not with something that old much has changed, you should reincorporate your system.pas changes into the new system.pas- if they really are still needed.. A number of the changes people made back in the D5 days to core files arent really applicable now.
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    70
    It seems like Turbo Delphi doesn't want to compile the system units at all. I can only get it to accept the original DCUs. Oh well, back to Old Faithful.
    Signature:
    Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,774
    it can, but it has to compile the ones with all the right changes that match the current system, some classes moved etc.. So, hence you would need to change the turbo delphis original system.pas to match your requirements.

    What did you change?
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    70
    It doesn't even recognize the shipped System.pas.
    Signature:
    Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,774
    theres usually reason for that. Such as, you have a newer DCU in the path, or theres more than one system.pas it finds.
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    70
    Nope, no DCUs in path, only one System.pas in path. No dice.

    D5 can't compile System.pas, I have to compile it with command line compiler. With Turbo Delphi, you get no such thing.
    Signature:
    Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,774
    So, I find myself asking again, what changes did you make? Are you sure you actually need them in turbo?
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    70
    I have removed everything. That which I need I write myself. And I need custom overflow/range check handling.
    Signature:
    Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,774
    I guess you have a very specific reason to do it. Turbo pro would have the options you wanted eg with commandline etc.. but if you were gonna be buying delphi, now it would be more sensible to buy delphi 2009.
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •