Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Registers, C++

Registers, C++

Hello ,

I’m fairly new to programming in this subject. I would like some help!!!

I’ve CPU with chip Winbond (W83627HG - AW). The chip reads data from SM Bus that connects to an external battery. I need to read a voltage of the battery from a chip.

Please explain me what I need to do, and how can I do this, step by step.
    Thanks!!!

I think you will need to use Assembly for this sort of thing first, unless your Winbond chip shipped with some instructions or compiler that works with C++.

Usually Chips come with instruction sets. You will need those.

Page 15 of this pdf shows you the pins of the chip followed by description.
    Page 46 shows you the registers.
    Page 84 shows you some of the Assembly instructions.

http://beta.octopart.com/Winbond__W83627HG-AW.pdf

Have fun.
    Last edited by TF242; 06-04-2008 at 10:42 AM.

this is probably not a c++ question at all (unless you already have a library for interfacing with the chip, which does not seem to be the case).

here's what you'll need to do: first of all, you'll need a full manual of the W83627HG chip. the datasheet won't be sufficient, as you'll probably need the full instruction set. winbond's homepage is a damn mess (tried to find a manual there myself once ), so this might already be a bigger problem than expected.
    next, you'll need to find out how the chip is interfaced from your cpu. if the chip is soldered on the mainboard, you'll have to check your mainboards manual for this, if it's on an external device (e.g. connected via parallel port), check out the controller chip and get a manual for it.