Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Newbie dives in for advice

Hi all, my first post.

I posted on Nick Hodges blog that I was having problems finding answers to problems (I am new to Delphi and have purchased Turbo Delphi Pro win32). Some kind soul suggested that I could ask any Delphi question here and be likely to get the best help available on the internet.

So here goes.

I would like to access an XL spreadsheet file. Each line holds a name, a date and a number of other text fields. I would like to load each name in turn and check its Soundex value (I know how to do the Soundex bit) against a target soundex string. If there is a match, I would then like to load in the rest of the line information into a record array for later display and printing.

I have read Zarco Gajics tutorial on how to load and edit an XL spreadsheet into a DBGrid http://delphi.about.com/od/database/l/aa090903a.htm and am wondering if it is possible to bolt onto the back of this somehow, once the spreadsheet is loaded into the DBGrid, are the field values accessable for further processing and if so, either how do I do this, or where can I find information that can explain to me how? If it cannot be done, what route should I be exploring.

Thanks
    DerekSmith

Using excel doesnt sound the best way for this, i would create a record of all the fields and save to a .DAT file, then records could be loading into a stringgrid and access/edited easily.

Working with excel will add a number of difficulties to your problem, so, if you can avoid it, I would suggest you do.

As $eymour says a dat file of some form may work, although any form of readable file would arguably do. You may then find it easier to write the main part of your app and if you are still needing to do the excel part, then, start incorporating excel.
    Delphi !ROCKS!
    Got a question? Read this first!!!
    "You gotta help us, Doc. We've tried nothin' and we're all out of ideas"