Talking Animation for new characters

Brief intro:

Hi all,
    I've been a professional feature aninimator for over 18 years and I moved into 3D 5 years ago. I've enjoyed playing Unreal tournament with my friends for the past couple of years and I see some real opportunities in making new characters for UT2003. I have a few questions that I hope someone here can answer:

Will the new Unreal Editor allow the artist to use the full capabilities of the Karma physics on thier characters? Will I be able to export the character animation files from Maya but have Karma handle the parts with overlap, like tails, cloth sections or soft body parts? (like a feather in a cap)

Does Karma need to be coded into a model of can it be applied visually. I have an unnatural fear of coding!!!!

Thanks.

Well im not too sure but no one posted yet so i will try to help you.

To use the full capabilities of the karma i think you will need to be able to code. But i dont think it will be TOO hard.

Will I be able to export the character animation files from Maya but have Karma handle the parts with overlap, like tails, cloth sections or soft body parts? (like a feather in a cap)
    Yes i believe so. Check out
    http://udn.epicgames.com/
    and http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~polycoun...636.html?00453
    for some more info.

You also might want to check this thread on the Polycount forum:

http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~polycoun...673.html?00046
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I only use my gun whenever kindness fails.
    -Joe Ely
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Within UT2003 Karma isn't intended to be used on animated models as a solution for secondary motion or collision for things like cloth.