Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

C++ Independent Study

I started a IDS and am doing C++. I need some help on what i should do.
    Should i get the C++ VTM's from 3DBuzz, or start my book Sams teach yourself C++ in 21 Days. Or should i get a different book. I also have no C++ experience, a little (minute amount) of HTML and PERL programming knowledge.
    ~Edit~ I am also very interested in programming my own games, so any help with that (materials, language, software, books, etc) would be excellent

Thanks!
    SM

Talking

well i bought books and i learned a little but then i got the 3dbuzz.com c++ vtms
    now i understand more than any book could ever teach me

it also depends on HOW you learn..i learn by watching and listening better than
    i do copy n pasting and reading

but i feel as if i am a better programmer after getting all the c++ vtms

the OPENGL one are excellent
    ME WANT AGENTS ME WANT AGENTS ME WANT AGENTS

get both the book and the VTM if possable. if you are poor(like me) get just the book.
    be sure to get the 'complete compiler edition' of that book, or you will be sorry
    i have heard those openGL VTMs are good, but i dont like OGL. i would recomend finding books on DirectX for game programing after your learn c++ entirly.

good luck

Ah yes, so you and me are alike. I am a very visual learner. This book (C++ in 21 days) is boring me to death, i hardly started it and can hardly do anything. I am probably going to be a Member sponsor, So can i download ALL of the C++ VTMs and the OpenGL VTMs?

Quote Originally Posted by ostamo2
    well i bought books and i learned a little but then i got the 3dbuzz.com c++ vtms
    now i understand more than any book could ever teach me

it also depends on HOW you learn..i learn by watching and listening better than
    i do copy n pasting and reading

but i feel as if i am a better programmer after getting all the c++ vtms

the OPENGL one are excellent