Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Thread: max<-->UEditor

  1. #1

    3ds max <--> UEd - Instructions!

    I've only been here for half a day, and I've already seen far too many topics on this. Perhaps this calls for sticky post?

    If you are trying to import or export something from 3d Studio Max, here's what you do:

    From Unreal Editor to max -
    1. Open whatever you're exporting
    2. File->save as-> filename.obj (make sure you've got .obj and not .t3d)
    3. Once you have the file in obj format, open Max (or maya) and do a file->import and import the obj. Voila.

    From Max to UE -
    Export your object as an .ase file. Open Unreal, go to your static mesh browser. import.
    Last edited by xarius; 10-14-2007 at 10:56 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Essex, UK.
    Posts
    16,957
    Yep, I agree, Thanks for taking the time to do this
    Complaining is like a rocking chair, It's fun for a while but it doesn't get you anywhere.

  3. #3
    just doing my part to give back to the comunity

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    59
    Hello
    im a complete noob in max but ive got a mesh and i cant get it into ued

    What i did:
    Exported as a .ase file
    tried importing and also opening in ued

    result:
    nothing!

    what am i doing wrong?

    oh i also tried doing this with a cube, nothing happned as well

    any help would be great ^_^
    Last edited by Klarth; 04-30-2003 at 03:37 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    59
    well my mistake was trying to import directly into ued 3 not the sm browser
    well although the info above is correct a more detailed tut can be found at the address below

    http://www3.sk.sympatico.ca/kelbeau/.../contents.html

    thanks to fordy for that one ^_^

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3

    3dsmax

    "Rendering to textures"

    Is this feature only available in 3dsmax 5?
    And not somewhere in version 4.2?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5

    Question Max to UE

    Even when I export to .ase I can't seem to get the object into UE. This is UT2003 and max 4.3. Is there some special way you have to import within UE, cause when I try to just open it from the file menu it gives a 'general protection fault' and quits.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Raleighwood
    Posts
    1,058

    Re: Max to UE

    Originally posted by KinDread
    Even when I export to .ase I can't seem to get the object into UE. This is UT2003 and max 4.3. Is there some special way you have to import within UE, cause when I try to just open it from the file menu it gives a 'general protection fault' and quits.
    Look 2 posts above yours.
    DocHogan

    -------------
    Andrew- Illusions against a burninator? Silly, silly British man.
    Amanda- I put a time flux on Trogdor
    Andrew- Step down, girlfriend! You can't just-
    Amanda- Ninth level sorcerer, AND I carry the Emerald Chalice. Trogdor is frozen in time. Deal with it.
    Xander- Smack-down on Red Riding Hood. This could get ugly.
    Giles- How could it possibly get any uglier? I used to be a highly respected Watcher. Now I'm a wounded dwarf with the mystical strength of a doily.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5
    yeah, thanks. I saw that right after I posted. I didn't recognize it as the same problem when I first read through.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5

    Texturing in UE

    Anyone ever had this problem: when importing a texture into UE (either bmp or pcx), the dialog with package, group, etc shows up, but after that nothing happens, no error message or anything.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •