Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Maya Mental Ray Render Question

Hi,
    Mental Ray is crashing when rendering the final Mechs assignment in the Maya Fundamentals course and I'm assuming its because of an overtaxed system and/or not enough RAM. (I'm using a quad core with 8 gigs RAM and Windows 7, 64-bit OS, with Nvidia 560 TI graphics)--and am rendering the assignment in HD format. It renders fine using the Maya Software, so the problem seems specific to Mental Ray. The Nvidia drivers are currently updated, as well as the OS.

Is it reasonable to assume its crashing because of RAM? I'm a complete noob trying to get a sense of what my hardware can and cannot do--and how to analyze rendering issues. Other than the HD resolution, the settings are those suggested by the course. Is it unusual for Mental Ray to crash or is this something you just work around? IPR crashes all the time, as well--so much I don't even like using it.

I sure appreciate any tips or advice anyone might have--the MF course has been wonderfully fun--and am curious how to deal with rendering in the future.
    Last edited by rwilliams23; 04-13-2012 at 12:21 AM. Reason: Corrected amount of available RAM

Boy you’re making real good time ripping through the tutorials.

First assuming that you are following the tutorial and not adding any extra bling bling then your hardware is more than adequate considering the much lower hardware specifications that came out at the time Maya Fundamentals was released.

Crashes in general are rather difficult to solve and can usually be tracked down using divided and conquer techniques and in context your problem could be in either exceeding the limitations of the video card or your scene has a corrupted element with a value that causes the rendering engine to crash.

Assuming that you have a stable install of Maya I can usually solve my own crashes by examination of the scene assets and compare them to the limitations as to requirements.