Help with batch processing for website

Hello, I'm majoring in Computer Science and currently taking some programing classes.

I'm wanting to build a website where I can upload lots of pictures. I want to be able to batch process the images... resizing the photos and adding a logo to each one. I want this to be done all in the backend of the website. I worked for a company who took event photos and had its employees upload the photos through their website. The imges were automatically resized and were stamped with a logo.

I'm wanting to do something similar but not quiet (am not stealing their idea... just taking a piece of their concept). I like the idea that their employees could just upload the photos and everything else was taken care of.

As a programmer in training, I want to be able to write code to accomplish something like this.... and put it to test. The thing is that I don't even know where to start. Can anyone point me out in the right direction?

Thanks in advance....

There are many ways to do this.

Store the unaltered images, and apply watermarking on the fly (or logo/bar, whatever)

major negative being that more processing power is needed on each image request, but you could use reverse caching to speed that up and only process images when they change (i.e. when you change the logo for instance)
    major advantage being that if you want to change it, you don't have to go back though the library.

Store the unaltered, generate a proxy with logo

slight negative being more space is used, given as its web, this is unlikely to amount to anything, after all a few thousand image thumbs at 1280 are still pretty small.
    slight negative, in order to change them all, you'll need to rebatch run a convert

And lastly, temporarily save the original, convert, and dispose of the original

negative being that of course, should you wish to change the logos, depending on what changes you want you are likely to only be able to apply it to newer images.