Lost normal mapping with Unity lightmapping

When creating a lightmap in Unity 3 the normal mapping goes away. I've provided two images, one with lightmapping turned on and the other with it off. The image with lightmapping turned off shows the sun reflecting off the ground and the specular highlights on the ground and two models.

The ground and tall cube are just a Unity Plane and cube. I created a checker pattern and let Unity create normal maps from it. I then created a material and set the shader to Bump Specular and set the two textures (diffuse and normal) for it.
    Everything was looking really good up until I generated a lightmap.

The crate is an FBX with custom normal map. Its material was also Bump Specular.

I tweaked parameters for the lightmapper but I could never get the normal mapping to show back up. So how can I get the shadows along with normal mapping? Caution: Unity newbie here, so if the solution is simple please be easy on me. Notice that I do get the shadows in the bottom shadow mapped image but the sun (directional) light and normal mapping disappear.

They explain it a bit in this tutorial here. Skip to ~30:30

http://www.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/sv_showvideo.php?v=4871

Short answer, I think you'll need to change your rendering path.

Quote Originally Posted by Krynn72 View Post
    They explain it a bit in this tutorial here. Skip to ~30:30

http://www.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/sv_showvideo.php?v=4871

Short answer, I think you'll need to change your rendering path.
    Thanks but I did change to Deferred Lighting rendering path from Forward. Lee did directly say you would lose normal mapping with Forward rendering but again I did change mine.

Are you using Unity3D Free? If so, Deferred Lighting is a Unity3D Pro feature only, you can set it but nothing really happens and you are basically just using Forward rendering still, as far as I know at least - correct me if I am wrong

Quote Originally Posted by timespin View Post