Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    223

    Question How to delete a camera?

    More cameras have been added to our collective scene and I want to delete them. How do I do this? Maya 6 won't let me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    248
    Bit of a vauge question any details
    There are cameras you simply cant delete as maya needs them for maya .

    Normally they are hidden and if you want them out of your way just hide them again (select it and ctrl - h i belive)

    If this isnt what you want your going to have to be more descriptive
    for example how are you trying to delete them, do you have much experience in maya etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    223

    Remove camera object from Outliner?

    Ah I see soz. I have eight cameras you see.

    Yes, I have gained persp1, top1, front1, and side1,...which I want delete to leave only the four default cameras in my Outliner.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    248
    ahhh that sounds like maybe a scene was imported into this one possibly.
    Someone with a little more experience is going to have to help you on this one.

    am i right in thinking there is a persp, top, front, and side
    as well as the persp1, top1, front1, and side1?

    basically these camaras are used for the viewports themselfs.

    be carefull because I managed to force delete something i didnt really understand in a scene once and without it maya crashed i think it was the persp camera

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    223

    Unhappy Original question - not answered yet

    Still waiting for a Maya user to enlighten us. C'mon folks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    316
    Not a maya user myself but you might want to try selecting the cameras you want to delete within the outliner and press delete key.
    I hate spammers of all kinds .
    My last.fm profile.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    223

    Thumbs down Not answered

    When you try this in Maya you will be alarmed to discover that the cameras cannot be deleted this way. <sigh>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    /..
    Posts
    2,480
    The nodes for the default cameras are all Read Only so Maya won't let you make the 'mistake' of deleting them.
    If these extra cameras are cluttering up your outliner you can group them to save space.

    Maybe try selecting everything but the cameras in the current scene and Exporting Selection into a new scene?

    Sorry i couldn't be more help answering the actual question, i'm unable to recreate the situation here using 2008. Might be a version 6 issue??
    There is an exception to every rule, apart from this one.

    Current giveaway: Freelance Quixel suite (...working on details)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    974
    Try the following code for all your cameras one after another:

    camera -e -startupCamera false persp1;
    camera -e -startupCamera false top1;
    camera -e -startupCamera false front1;
    camera -e -startupCamera false side1;

    Now try to delete them.
    If this doesn't help, try to use the lockNode command as followed:

    lockNode -lock off persp1;
    lockNode -lock off top1;
    lockNode -lock off front1;
    lockNode -lock off side1;

    Hope one of them works for you.

    cheers,
    Daniel
    The only path to SUCCESS is through FAILURE!
    ...other people's failure. Not yours.
    That wouldn't be a very good path.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    223

    Thumbs up Export to new scene works

    faux's suggestion worked. I hope to try the coding method Daniel suggested a bit later when I've won some time to try it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •