Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    709

    Mac: Bootcamp: How can I screen capture in Windows?

    Hell all! I know a shortcut key, for mac, to capture whatever image I have on my screen. There's also a way to activate a marquis tool that lets you select what you want to capture.

    Apart from all of the software I have on my mac... I also use software that require the use of Windows, such as: 3ds Max and Houdini which I'm currently running under bootcamp. I've done a quick search on the internet regarding screen capturing in windows and so far the only input I've gotten back deals with the use of the 'print screen' button on the keyboard.

    Well for those who don't know Apple keyboards don't have the 'print screen' button. Is there another way to capture images off the desktop? I'm mainly wanting to use this so I can post some of my W.I.P without having to render out and image.
    Rico - VFX Artist in training
    USA: Kansas: Kansas City = (GMT -6:00) (CST)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    36
    Hey Rico,

    I run Maya and 3DS Max on my macbook pro. It's Function+F11.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    709
    Really? I'm running them on my MacBook pro, too. The only thing is that when I hit fn+F11 nothing happens.
    Rico - VFX Artist in training
    USA: Kansas: Kansas City = (GMT -6:00) (CST)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    709
    Well I finally found a way. It's not the best but at least I'll be able to show my work. I went to All Programs> Accessories> Accessibility> On-Screen Keyboard and just used the on-screen keyboard. So just hold down and hit the print screen button on the keyboard, open up paint, paste, and save.

    It's a lot of work for a screen capture but that's alright. Hopefully this information will be of some use to someone.... as it was to me.
    Rico - VFX Artist in training
    USA: Kansas: Kansas City = (GMT -6:00) (CST)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    248
    There are hundreds of windows programs to screen capture with lots of extra functions.
    I haven't used them since win98 tho so hopefully someone else can recommend one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    709
    Hey Steve! Thanks for the input. It's alright... I think I'm going to stick to this. Am trying to avoid downloading 3rd party apps. But thanks though.
    Rico - VFX Artist in training
    USA: Kansas: Kansas City = (GMT -6:00) (CST)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Rico View Post
    Really? I'm running them on my MacBook pro, too. The only thing is that when I hit fn+F11 nothing happens.
    When taking a screen shot you are essentially copying it.

    You then have to go into some type of paint program after hitting FN+F11 and hit Ctrl+V to "paste" your screen shot or an Edit pulldown menu and then click paste. Sorry forgot to mention that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    848
    get a keyboard that has the Print Scrn SysRq button on it. it saves allot of time but if its for a laptop but a laptop that has that button
    Brony, deal with it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    286
    Try fn-shift-f11 or fn-shift-option-f11
    From here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by EvilMonkey View Post
    Try fn-shift-f11 or fn-shift-option-f11
    From here
    Perfect! This work! Thanks EvilMokey... you don't seem so evil after all.
    Rico - VFX Artist in training
    USA: Kansas: Kansas City = (GMT -6:00) (CST)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •